A multi-coloured Christmas

Just a quickie today to really say thank you to everyone for their support and help with PinkStinks over the last eight or so months. We are wondering where we’ll be this time next year and we know we have a hell of a lot of hard work to do over the next few months.

I was out Christmas shopping on Saturday and was looking for a dressing gown for Jasmine. Sadly, the only colour available was pink so she’s not getting one! I happened to wearing my PinkStinks t-shirt for the shopping trip. The shop assistant in Next pointed me towards the dressing gown as I said “please don’t tell me that you only have pink ones?!” “But that’s the colour that sells!” she said. “But it’s the only colour you have!!” was my response. I showed her my t-shirt and explained that there was no way I could buy it. I’m sure she thought I was quite mad.

Also some interesting things in the press recently about the gender divide in children’s toys. It’s so hideously evident everywhere you look. Rows and rows and rows of pink dolls, dressed in pink, surrounded by pink accessories and prams and car seats and potties and goodness knows what else. It’s all too much to bear really. So this year Rebecca (age 2) is getting a wooden pizza, and Jasmine (age 6) is getting a watch and a diary. I’ll be interested to see what else they get. Perhaps seeing as my family is well practiced in avoiding pink these days, it will be multi-coloured affair for a change! (I think Mylie Cyrus may be making an appearance at some point. Now she’s an interesting case study … for another time perhaps.)

So, if anyone can tell me where to get a non-pink dressing gown that would be great. And PinkStinks is back in force in the New Year with a new website (yes, really … ) and some funding, further t-shirt designs, and a big impact.

 New Year’s resolutions … DONE.

2 responses to “A multi-coloured Christmas

  1. I realise this is a slightly late comment, but then blog posts stay up and retain some relevancy, so I thought I’d chip in.

    i live this initiative, by the way, and I’m going to explain all about it to my 5 year old daughter, who already gets a reasonable amount of anit-pink propaganda thrown at her from me (three quarters of it undone by well meaning presents from relatives).

    Anyway, what I was going to say is that Ebay is generally speaking my first port of call for shopping, these days. not that woolies was in any sense actually choice ridden, but now, the only childrens clothes shop we have locally is Adams. and I mean, really. It’s like looking at a rich selection of bold colours on one side of the room, and a was of nightmarish pink-to-violet-only on the other.

    If I have to go with shop bought, I will tend to buy boys clothes when she’s not looking. So trousers for cold days in winter can then come in green, black, brown, etc – same with long sleeved tops. I’ve managed to persuade her she needs a pair of outdoor shoes which are good and chunky, and that usually get sold to boys “but are really great for scrambling about”.

    It’s useful to tell her that pink being for girls is a reversal of the old colour schemes for cildren at the turn of the 19th/20th centuries, when boys wore pink.

    Anyway, to return to the point – Ebay is your friend. Plus, it’s cheap!

    • Thank you for this! We’ve had a fantastic meeting today which will hopefully result in clever campaign material which will really make parents think about these issues. I’ll be searching for the elusive non-pink dressing gown on ebay! 😉

Leave a Reply

